Christmas Party Idea

With the Christmas season around the corner I thought I would share a Christmas program that I wrote for our church party. I converted the “Twas the night before Christmas” poem so it had the nativity scene in it. It was a lot of fun. I made a fireplace out of cardboard and decorated with it with stockings. I had access to two old windows from a house we were remodeling. My husband mounted them on wood so we could create a bedroom and a living room. I asked many members of our ward to act out the poem. It turned out great. Sadly though, I missed out on a lot of it. That’s the down side to being in charge.

If anyone out there is looking for a simple program for their church parties feel free to use my idea.

 

Twas the night before Christmas and all through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.

The stockings were hung by the Chimney with care, in hopes that St. Nicholas would soon be there.

The children were nestled all snug in their beds, while visions of sugar plums danced in their heads.

And Mamma in her ‘kerchief and I in my cap, had just settled our brains for a long winters’ nap.

When out on the lawn there rose such a clatter, I sprang from bed to see what was the matter.

And there blinding me from a far, was a miraculous shinning star.

It was then that I shuttered with shame. How was it that St. Nicholas got all the fame?

It belongs to our LORD, SAVOIR and KING! THATS where our praising voices should sing.

I knew then I had to make things right, I woke up my family that very same night.

And as they cuddled around the fireplace, staring lovingly at my determined face.

I cleared my throat to declare, “It’s Because of Christ’s life that we are here.”

He was born in a lowly stable, where animals ate off the ground unlike a fable.

Yet his birth was proclaimed, with angels singing his Heavenly Name.

“Good will and glad tidings our Savior is here! Let’s all shout with wondrous cheer.”

It was the shepherds who left their flocks behind, and made that mountainous decline,

all in hopes that they would find, the swaddling babe the angels defined.

If only they could find him awake, For HE was born for all mans’ sake.

As the Shepherds humbly knelt by the manger, our minds immediately think of the wise strangers.

They came bearing frankincense and myrrh, all in celebration for the Son of God’s Birth.

It was then I raised my voice, “Centering our lives around Christ is our choice!

He came to save all men, if we would repent from sin.

He was sent in the name of love, He came with a special mission from above.

And just as the clock chimed midnight, my family’s eyes beamed with delight,

Our Savior’s life is the reason for the season!

Let us not forget from year to year, it’s HIS life that is so dear.

May we have HIS spirit to be with us, each and every Christmas.

